Matthieu Vaxiviere took his second victory of the season


Matthieu Vaxiviere (SMP Racing) “We have been able to solve some problems we had in the past with the car. I was happy about the car but we still have to work, since Louis could catch me at the beginning of the race, even if I was quicker. In the middle of the race I could manage my advantage, also playing with DRS. I’m really happy for me and for the team, as after Spa win under the rain, this is our victory on dry track”.

Matthieu Vaxiviere took his second victory of the season in the first Formula V8 3.5 race at Spielberg with Louis Deletraz spending most of the race less than a second behind him.sept-1

Vaxiviere had a better launch off the line than pole-sitter Deletraz to take the lead with the latter also losing out to Egor Orudzhev before Turn 2. However, the Renault protege fought back two laps later and, although a late move at Remus only resulted in a small contact, he eventually forced his way through Orudzhev.

Although Vaxiviere built a lead of 3.3s by then, Deletraz started to close in on the SMP Racing driver as he was now running in clean air. He was less than a second behind in no time but Deletraz then spent the majority of the race without getting close enough for a move. He finally started a charge with just 10 minutes to go but the safety car soon neutralized the action due to Rene Binder’s stationary car on the main straight.sept-4

Vaxiviere had a good restart and spent the rest of the few minutes with the same lead on Deletraz he had earlier. Deletraz settled for second with Tom Dillmann, who was up to third in the early stages after Orudzhev’s car slowed down, taking third.

Alfonso Celis, who spent the most of the race holding off Binder, finished fourth followed by Arden’s Aurelien Panis and Lotus’ Roy Nissany. Teo Martin duo Yu Kanamaru and Beitske Visser finished seventh and eighth respectively, the latter passing Vitor Baptista on the restart lap. Baptista then also fell behind Marco Bonanomi, who completed his first race in the series this year.


  • 1 Matthieu Vaxiviere SMP Racing 31 42m26.793s
  • 2 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 31 0.977s
  • 3 Tom Dillmann AVF 31 4.527s
  • 4 Alfonso Celis AVF 31 8.836s
  • 5 Aurelien Panis Arden Motorsport 31 10.268s
  • 6 Roy Nissany Lotus 31 10.504s
  • 7 Yu Kanamaru Teo Martin Motorsport 31 11.060s
  • 8 Beitske Visser Teo Martin Motorsport 31 13.800s
  • 9 Marco Bonanomi Rp Motorsport 31 15.874s
  • 10 Vitor Baptista Rp Motorsport 31 16.412s
  • 11 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 31 16.892s
  • 12 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing 31 17.493s
  • 13 Giuseppe Cipriani Durango Racing Team 31 32.387s
  •  Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 23 Retirement
  • Rene Binder Lotus 22 Retirement